Skip to product information
1 of 3

Iodine Recordings

The Darling Fire - "Distortions"

Regular price $25.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $25.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

THIS IS A PRE ORDER. This item is expected to arrive in mid-late September 2022. Street date is currently September 16, 2022. All items purchased with this item will arrive when all stock has arrived. If you wish to receive anything sooner, please place separate orders.


“This place is a monument to my broken soul.”

After enduring the crushing sorrow of loss and grief, The Darling Fire return with their sophomore release. “Distortions” is a dark and pensive journey in ten compositions that transcends both beauty and pain, seamlessly combining elements of shoegaze, post-hardcore, and metal. Ghostly female vocals float above a pounding wall of sound, sewn together with vast atmospheric waves. Bleak, somber, and enchanting. 

Most will find “Distortions” to be a significant departure from their previous LP “Dark Celebration” as this recording is much more abrasive, gloomy, and brooding—more metal influenced than indie. The band felt that this new aggressive sound more accurately portrayed the sadness, rage, and pain they felt and that it seamlessly balanced with the hypnotizing softness of Jolie’s vocals. The outcome was an amalgamation of something beautiful, austere, and cathartic. It combines the haunting chills of My Bloody Valentine and the heaviness of Deftones. “It felt like a natural evolution for us to go in this direction—to create more movement…” says Jolie Lindholm, allowing the band to feel unconstrained while writing this album without having to force these songs to adhere to one genre or sound.

The vast collective experience of each member of The Darling Fire is exceptional by any measure. Members previously played with: Shai Hulud, Further Seems Forever, The Rocking Horse Winner, As Friends Rust, and Strongarm. An impressive collaboration that was only strengthened by working with Producer Jay Maas (Defeater, Title Fight, Bane) in the studio. The outcome is an impressive and ambitious album that will resonate with listeners of all underground music. 

“I’ve had very specific dreams and nightmares throughout my life that I still remember vividly. A dream can blur the line between what is and isn’t real. At times, we may wake from a good dream and want to fall back into it; or we tell ourselves to wake from a nightmare, only to realize what’s happening on this plane is stranger than the one we just left.” 

"The cavernous mood and feel of the harmonics infuses the tune with delicious undulating textures, souped-up yet edged by gleaming effervescence." – RAWCKUS


  1. Machina
  2. Heart Will Stop
  3. Clean Hands
  4. Downer
  5. Amber
  6. Hers
  7. Perigee
  8. Rituals
  9. Samsara
  10. Legless

Pressing Info (Available Through Northern Scene):

200 x Perigee (Ghostly White w/ Sea and Black Splatter)

200 x Amber (Bone White)